35 MM SLR Digital

I’m a huge digital photography buff (I actually have a personal, legit paid for copy of Photoshop ;) ) but I have continued to hold off on getting a 35 MM SLR digital until I felt it was a reasonably stable market (as stable as any can get in the digital world.) I’m not a pro, but I’ve won a few contests and I’m at the level where I’m looking at purchasing a couple of decent studio lights for portraits. But most will be personal photos. I’ve got my old Canon G2 for point and shoot, a Pentax Optio S for in my shirt pocket, but now I’ve got a real jones for the 35 MM SLR Digital option.

What are people’s experiences/opinions? I’m open to looking at several price points to decide which one is the sweet spot. I read dpreview.com but I’m interested in opinions of folks here.

I’m not as advanced an amateur as you, but when deciding which one to buy, I picked the brand according to lenses I had, or had access to. My non-digital SLRs (collecting dust) are Olympus, who I decided were not doing anythign interesting in digital SLRs. I already had a couple of canon EOS lenses, and two friends with canon digital SLRs and a few interestign lenses between them. So that cemented my brand choice, and then I just narrowed it down to a model.

I just bought the Canon Rebel XT over Christmas and I’m totally in love with it. It was a huge step up for me and my first SLR camera so I’m still learning everything it can do (and, more importantly, when to do it for best results). The quality of the pictures is fantastic, especially relative to my old point-and-shoot. It and the Nikon D50 are the highest-rated DSLRs in their price range ($800-$1000). I bought mine from Beachcamera.com for a pretty good price.