36 hours later, I'm still wide awake

About 2 days ago, I woke up in the same way I always wake up, and went to work. After my shift was over, I went home, stayed up for a couple hours, then went to bed, even though I didn’t feel tired. I tossed and turned for the next 7 hours or so, then at 10:45am got out of bed and went to work again. I never slept, but I still wasn’t tired. I finished my shift today at 8:30pm, came home and laid down on the couch, expecting sleep any moment, but it never came. It’s now close to 6am, and I’m approaching 36 hours without sleep. And I’m not tired. At all.

Now, I’ve worked in a similar way to how I am now (I’m a programmer in the games industry) but this time, I’m not getting tired. Last time I worked like this, I was exhausted and slept for about a day straight. Instead, I feel completely normal. As if I slept last night. But I didn’t. Or the night before. I’ll be going to work again in about 6 hours, and I won’t be expecting a day off for another 2 weeks at least. So my question is, what the hell is going on with me? Again, I feel normal, but I’m never getting tired; in fact, I feel pretty good. Still, this isn’t normal, and I know that. Should I be worried?

You probably need a solid root or something. Either that or you’re about to go fucking supernova and blow up the east coast…

Hmm, after re-reading my original post several hours later, I think that I do not indeed feel normal.

There’s a reason you don’t want to sleep you’re not telling us about isn’t there?

I occasionally “skip” a night of sleep with no ill effects and without any, uh, external help. I don’t know why that is. Although it is far less frequent now than when I was in my mid- 20s.

Scry did you have a dream about a man standing over you the other night while you slept? Do you feel sensitivity to sunlight? Have you had anything garlic to eat recently, and if so, did it taste like hot peppers?