60+ hours work week still the industry norm?

http://playthisthing.com/mothers-dont-let-your-children-grow-be-game-developers

I don’t really know how I feel. Looking at posts from EpicBoy it seems like they get great monetary compensation, but if it’s the norm, then it’s not a choice. Ie you can’t pick another developer to work for that doesn’t demand those hours.

I like my 38 hours work week and 6-7 weeks of vacation to be with my family - also I’m not a proper games journalist since I harbor no dreams of going into development.

This ^^^ is not the norm in the industry.

6-7 weeks vacation…that is like some fairytale land. ;)

Or any industry.

After reading articles like this and talking with programmer friends, I’m glad I went right back to school after getting my CS degree.

Nursing allows me to work 36 hours a week at a decent wage and get 3-4 weeks paid vacation a year (if I save personal time off) which gives me ample time to do whatever the hell I want. Music, reading, gaming… etc. Plus, it’s very satisfying.

Praise to those that do develop games though!

Sounds like some people are still stupid enough to think that the humans can produce more just because you force them to work for more hours.

A well-rested and happy programmer is so far more productive than an over-worked and tired one.

Depends a lot on the studio, and where it is on the ship cycle. The last several months of Halo Wars was easily 60-70 hr weeks for almost everyone. Things can get much worse than that, though not in any sustainable way … System Shock 1 was sleep-deprivation bad crunch for an extended period, as I recall.

I’d say my average non-crunch period work weeks are probably about 50 hrs, sometimes even a lot closer to the mythical 40. I’ve worked for good companies though, some are chronic crunchers which can be much more brutal.