Aggressors: Ancient Rome

I know this title has been mentioned at least a couple times around here, but with it releasing August 20, seems a thread is warranted.

Turn-based, good attention to historical detail, combination of grand strategy and 4X, with the historical scenario leaning grand strategy and the randomized maps more towards 4X. You get fairly detailed battle reports, and there are lots of factors to try to control in order to win battles, but no control of in-battle tactics. Looks to be very moddable.

I was not chosen for the beta, so I have no first hand knowledge, but I’m optimistic enough to say a definite first day purchase for me.

Slitherine’s Beta Gamplay and Discussion

Forum containing several Dev Diaries

Interesting. Seems like it will be very difficult for it to set itself apart from all the other existing and upcoming Rome game.

He had me at turn-based.

I really wanted to get into the Beta, but this was the first one I missed in a long time. Day One purchase for me as well.

@jpinard In terms of marketing, yeah, I would be concerned in their shoes. It does come out before Imperator Rome, though, so the hype for that game may get sales from people waiting for that one.

For me, though, it looks vastly better than the competition. In addition to being turn based and not battle tactics focused, it looks closely tethered to the realities of the time period, but allowing tons of choice when it comes to playing actual and alternative history.

Of course, the biggest unanswered question will be the quality of the AI. And the second biggest question will be the quality of the documentation.

Being Slitherine, I wouldn’t worry about the quality of the documentation.

From what I’ve seen the biggest difference is this being fully turn-based and combat abstracted. It could almost be an Ageod title, except the interface doesn’t seem as unweildy.