AI Art feels kinda shitty.....

I work as a concept artist these days and I have to admit I find myself feeling pretty crappy about a lot of the attitudes about AI Art. First off I will preface this a bit by saying that I actually think the algorithm technology is actually kinda cool. Not of personal interest to me, since I’d rather draw by hand, but I am glad people are enjoying it.

My issue comes in where there is a lot of sentiment from artists that they don’t really want their work being used by this tech (I’m one such artist). The attitude of the Pro AI crowd overwhelmingly seems to be “fuck you, we take what we want. Who cares if it’s your work and you’d rather it not be used in this way”.

It’s always worded more like “well human artists use it so why should the machine be any different” and these people just don’t seem to give a fuck that artists see it as different and don’t want their work being used in this way by the AI.

Do people hate artists that much? That when an artist says they don’t want their work a part of this thing for whatever reason people’s reaction is “who cares what you think, we take what we want”.

I don’t understand why the Pro AI folks aren’t like “Ok cool, we can totally respect you don’t want your work in this, there should be opt out options and maybe we limit the scraping to to public domain work pre 1926 (I think that’s the year we are on).”

I honestly had no idea so many people hated artists so much that they feel it’s their right to totally disregard the intent or wishes of an artist regarding that artists work.

This is a bit of a rant, but as an artist I’m definitely not feeling great about how little respect so many people seem to have regarding our intentions for our work.

(If QT3 is like everywhere else these days I’m sure I’m about to get a heaping helping of “fuck you artist, we take what we want” so don’t be surprised if this winds up deleted.)