Anti-virus, etc

So I’ve been using Norton for several years, for anti-virus, firewall, anti-spam, etc. I’ve got the all-in-one product.

But I’m wondering if this is really best. It runs like 12 different processes on my machine. I don’t know how much of a slowdown it causes on reboots and/or generally, but I would think there is non-trivial overhead. I don’t really need anti-spam at the moment (using new long, well-guarded e-mail address has dropped my spam to near nil). Firewall, I was thinking about just using the default one included by MS on XP service pack 2. I suppose I still need virus protection, but am wondering if Norton is still the best, or something else?

Norton is so horrible I sometimes wonder if I’d have been better off getting the viruses.

AVG from GRISOFT is free and works well without crippling the computer.

A long while back I also used SOLO antivirus which was good.

I have seen recommendations about AVAST as well.

It’s a regularly ocurring question on this board. Here is a recent thread.

For what its worth, I make use of Avast. It runs quickly and mostly unobtrusively. I say mostly because it likes to announce in a loud voice that it has updated the antivirus database. It bugged me at first, but I’ve gotten used to it.

AVG is only free if you get AVG Free, which they no longer link to from their main site, http://www.grisoft.com

Instead, you have to go to http://free.grisoft.com

I’ve been using Anti-Vir for a number of years, it’s free as well and light on the resources. www.free-av.com

For professional grade stuff, I use Kaspersky. www.kaspersky.com I had a serious virus problem a few years back on a Sunday night and Kaspersky was fielding me great tech support from their offices in Moscow and fixed my problem. I swear by their service now. Just can’t afford it for all my computers. I have too many.

K

I have been using AVG for years and its a great product. Norton can go fuck a duck.