Any computer audiophiles?

I am in the process of a talent swap with my neighbor. I am going to upgrade his computer, he is going to do some work for me. One of the things he would like is for me to hook up his keyboard to his computer so his wife can fool around with composing songs. I have never done this before, but I have been looking into it for a few days and believe I can accomplish this task. I am looking for advice from anyone who knows anything at all about this.

I am considering just selling them my P3 550, instead of upgrading their circa '96 Compaq. The physical wiring looks fairly simple to accomplish. Besides the keyboard, computer, and midi adapter cable, is there any other required hardware? When it’s all hooked up, does the sound play from the sound card or the keyboard?

Can anyone recommend decent sequencing software? My neighbors seem to have a pretty good sense for music, but they are complete novice when it comes to the computer. Above all, the software should be easy to use. If possible it should run on XP, although I am happy to just leave 98 on the machine.

I realize there no one may be able to help me with this, but I figured I would at least try. Surely if nothing else, someone knows a good resource to point me toward?

If she’s a computer newbie, you want a reaaaally simple sequencer. Jumping into something like Cakewalk or Cubase would just be overkill. I have more advanced programs, but actually use Powertracks Pro Audio, which is pretty oldskool. It’s a good basic sequencer, and really cheap (less than $40) http://www.pgmusic.com. System requirements are low, too, so they could probably keep their old machine. I have version 7, using it with Win98 on a Pentium Xeon450 and a variety of keyboards/samplers.

You’ll need a decent full-duplex (play and record at same time) sound card…a Soundblaster Live (you can probably get one cheap) works fine.