Any Homebrewers here?

This past weekend I just brewed my first 5 gallon batch. I made the Cincinatti Pale Ale recipe from the Palmer book (probably the first brew for 80% of homebrewers out there, I’m guessing).

I don’t have any particular insight or anything yet, seeing as how my first batch isn’t even done. I was pretty funny with the fermenter though - acting like it was a new baby or something, getting excited over every little thing it did. “Look, it’s bubbling! omg!”

Anyone else want to share some homebrew anecdotes? Or recipes? Or advice? Bottling day is in another couple weekends, and I’m trying to figure out when to schedule my next brew day.

Congrats on your first beer! Do yourself a favor and start another batch every two weeks. When I started brewing I spent a lot of time lurking at a message board for homebrewers. In fact it’s the only other message board I check with any frequency.

It’s run by a local Homebrew Store here in Colorado. There’s a ton of great info there.

The Brew Hut

Yep. Need to go to the brew store and pick up a batch of ingredients soon. No real anecdotes, other than it’s so much easier than people think it is.

I’ve been homebrewing pretty steadily for a year and a half. My big suggestions are: take notes and stay clean! If you get something really good, you’re going to hate yourself when you can’t do it again. I usually brew 2 5 gallon batches at once, every 2 months or so - one is usually an experiment or a straight recipe of a style I haven’t tried yet, and the other is trying to perfect a recipe of something I really like - a hazelnut brown ale in this case. But of course if you have the time and funds, brew as much as you can.

What is the average cost/yield of a batch?