Anyone read poetry?

I think one of the most shameful things to occur during the 20th century is that Jewel (the singer) would have the best selling book of poetry if all time. I flipped through a few pages at the book store and the only thing I can say is a paraphrase from Oscar Wilde: All sentimental poetry is bad poetry.

Myself, I’m finishing up with the British Romantics: Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley and Keats.

Yeah, I read poetry. My degree is English with minor in comparative literature (yeehaw!!!) So I HAD to read this stuff (I chose the path less employed!)

My faves are (these days) usually pre ww2 / ‘postmodern’

Wallace Stevens is always a fave of mine. His poetry goes beyond the average fomalist poetry … sorta like a freeform ‘dadaist’ version of TS Eliot without the tragedy, at least in ‘didactic philosophical’ type poetry (though some of Stevens borders on solipsistic sadness, at least in tone, but he writes from so many different pov’s…)

and then Neruda, Lorca, Mayakovsky, Baudelaire, Blake, Hopkins, Shakespeare, Poe. Crane, Dickinson… ah too many to mention.

And the English Romantics are pretty good. I thikn Blake is the best of em, though he was completely insular from the rest of the crowd at the time. Wordsworth I’ve started to really ‘get’ more I read him now that I’m so much more mature… :roll: but something about Wordsworth and memory and innocecne and experience… it still rings true today. Keats is so muscular to read for me. He’s like the Romantic version of Pope/Marlowe. If I had to choose though, I think I’d choose Wordsworth for the fact that even though he became conservative later in his poetry, his personal ‘romantic’ notions of self and nature and whatnut, still hold true today. Blake I read for ‘philosophical’ thinking. Songs of Innocence and Experience is AWESOME! I still get multiple meaning on something as popular like Tyger Tyger…