Applied Mathematics and its many uses!

Greetings seething masses of qt3! I am crawling out of the lurker woodwork to toss out some (probably ignored) questions. There appear to be some math-minded folks out there, so these questions are aimed right at you!

So, to preface, I am a graduate student in (Pure) Mathematics currently. I am running the gauntlet of basic required grad Algebra and Analysis classes. However I am finding that the courses I WANT to take are offered in the Applied Math department. Essentially dynamical systems in its many shapes in forms. My first exposure to it was in my ODEs classes, where we modeled assorted biological systems. And hot damn if it wasn’t fascinating as hell.

So my questions, to you select smart folks still reading, are thus: Do any of you fine folk know much about dynamical systems, especially as used in the sciences? Also, does anyone have any general experience with mathematics in an applied capacity? If so, do you have any advice/wisdom/tips? The sexiness of applied mathematics is more alluring than the wonky abstractness of the pure stuff!

Thanks in advance for any input on my rambling thoughts/questions.

The only thing I know about math beyond the class room is seeing it in action in NUMB3RS. Math formulas pop up all over the screen and create neat pictures and meld in to other pictures on the screen, and then Charlie Epps magically helps them catch the bad guy with his math wizardry.

Though to be honest I know nothing about math in an applied term except engineers using it to figure things out and/or analysts using it to figure things out.

EDIT: Would it be helpful in code breaking? I must say whenever I read some books if they had code breaking happening in it I’ve always wondered what kind of education the code breakers have. I would guess that mathematics would be a good background for algorithms and what not.