Beginner Math Games?

Any good games that teach math to beginners? I found plenty of flash games of varying quality, but I’m looking for something a little more engaging.

My daughter is actually pretty good at math, but she doesn’t realize this. I thought plyaing a game might help her build self-confidence.

They’re not necessarily teaching tools, but both Brain Age and Big Brain Academy have math exercises built into them.

You could try the ‘Zoombini’ games.

Maybe a card game like ‘Flinch’ or ‘Harvester’ would be better.

I remember there were math games from the learning company awhile ago probably 13 years ago that I played which were pretty helpful back in elementary school. They had basic algerbra and advance, don’t know if they went any more then that.

They could have updated versions of them, but I don’t know if the learning company is still around.

As someone who teaches math, well, I suppose for a living:

Nothing builds a kid’s confidence more than a parent or tutor.

Most children (and teenagers) don’t feel truly confident about something like this until they show someone else that they can do those annoying problems in the practice section at the back of the book. Something to keep in mind for later on, since you implied that your child is still at the grade-school level.

And some actual on topic advice: If you are a Gametap subscriber, they have a metric fuckton of educational games available.

Jesus, McBain I don’t know if I’m comfortable accepting advice about my daughter’s self esteem from someone in your location. :)

Thanks for the head’s up about doing the practice problems with an adult/tutor. My other child is the exact same age but has tons of confidence. How does that happen?

Thanks for the suggestions. I am familiar with the Learning company, so they’re still around, but I was hoping someone had something specific in mind. I’ll have to take a look at Brain Age and Big Brain Academy.

‘Zoombini’ games are the closest I can think of.