Blood Bowl - Tips and Tricks for New Coaches

I started playing Blood Bowl a few weeks ago and have become rather hooked to the unique progression, league, and game mechanics of this game. At first glance the game seems rather complicated. At second glance you realize that’s because the UI purposefully makes the game seem complicated. At third glance you realize the underlying rules of the game are more complicated that you thought even at first glance.

If anyone spots any inaccuracies with any of this, please let me know right away.

Here’s a list of things I either learned quickly or wish I had known about when I started. Hope it helps.

Reldan’s Tips, Tricks, and Advice for New Coaches.

1. Basics

Avoiding Turnovers

Plan your turn out before you start taking actions.  The first time you fail at almost any action you immediately end your turn.  Moving is one of the few things you can do in the game that has zero chance of failure, therefore you should stand guys up and reposition them before you start blocking, dodging, or handling the ball.  This is especially important on the first turn of the game.  Your first action should NEVER be to pick up the ball after the kickoff.  In general, save the riskiest actions to be the last things you do each turn (or, if they're that risky, consider if you should be doing them at all)

Blocking

Blocking is one of the most key concepts to understand in Blood Bowl.  There are special 6-sided block dice that work as follows:

1: Attacker Down
2: Both Down
3-4: Push
5: Defender Stumbles
6: Defender Down

Whoever's turn it is takes the role of Attacker.  The other player then is the Defender.  Assuming no skills on either side, the Defender Stumbles and Defender Down actions will knock the opponent prone.  Defender Stumbles, however, will be treated as a Push if the defender has Dodge.  Attacker Down will always cause an immediate turnover, and Both Down will as well unless the Attacking player has Block or Wrestle.