Car buying advice - Honda Fit Sport

I call upon the collected wisdom of QT3! Please guide my actions so I appear to not be a complete newb to the evil car salesman.

So, the story so far: My wife and I just got a fantastically cute dog, and after having lived for a long time in Boston without a car, we’ve decided to take the plunge and buy sometime to get our pup around in. We’ve been using zipcar for the last few years, but now we seem to be using a car too often for it to be economical.

I’ve looked at a few options so far:

Buy a used car through carmax. They have a nice fit sport with 9K miles for $15K + tax/title/etc. Total price for the car would be about $16.5K (there’s a transport fee to get the car from where it is to nearby so I can get it that adds $299.) The good thing about carmax is that I wouldn’t have to haggle. The bad is that I might be able to get a better deal if I was an awesome haggler - but neither my wife nor I am skilled in the fine art.

Buy through a dealer. I went to our closest dealer today, and got a “walk off the lot” price of 17.8K. This supposedly includes tax/title/etc. I got a huge talk about how the fit isn’t marked up much, so they can’t knock anything off. Having cash on hand (we plan to buy the entire car outright) doesn’t make a difference to them, and they didn’t seem to have any other discounts/etc. However, they say “Hey, just make us an offer, we might take it.”, which means “you’re paying too much if you pay what we ask, but we’re not going to tell you what’s reasonable. Let the games begin!”

Buy used through a 3rd party. All the prices here are competitive with carmax, or are worse. I assume they want me to haggle it down by some amount, but I have no idea what that amount really is…