Champions of Hara is, at last, the Mage Knight we deserve

No one has done more for Mage Knight than Champions of Hara designer Walter Barber.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.quartertothree.com/fp/2019/04/09/champions-of-hara-is-at-last-the-mage-knight-we-deserve/

With a review like that, how could one not buy?

Just do what I did–bought a copy of Too Many Bones then surprised by another Tom’s raving boardgame review and pretend TMB is good as it is.

Whoa shots fired! Tom convinced me to buy TMB and I actually think it’s as good as he makes it sound. What are your issues with it out of curiosity? Also Tom should be getting a cut of the marketing for these games as he’s earned another sale for Champions of Hara.

I’m so excited this turned out to be good! The designers were all students at Skidmore College (where I’m a professor), and I’m been avidly following their design/development process for years. It’s been a LONG wait for them (2 different KS campaigns, 2 complete development cycles, etc.), but the final product looks gorgeous.

My only hesitations with the design were:

1. If it allows for both competitive and cooperative, does that mean they both suffer in quality?
  2. I seem to recall you had to shift and move the big map tiles around quite a bit, and they often carried stuff with them. Is that still a part of the design, and is it annoying/frustrating at all?

I really want to try this now, and I’m excited to hear it’s suitable for solo-play.

My not-Tom answers:

1. Not in my opinion! I think they both have cool stuff to offer.

2. Well, it’s a thing, but I personally don’t have a problem with moving them. At worst there might be a card and a Corrupted on a hex, in which case moving the latter is enough to keep it stable. If you want you can just sorta slide them out of position and into a new one without ever lifting them up. No biggee.