Championship Manager 2010

All the talk of Solerium Infernum got me hankering for another game to play on my MacBook Pro and Vic’s being a slowpoke about releasing what I really want so I went ahead and purchased the Mac version of Championship Manager 2010. It’s downloading now.

Has anybody else been playing this one? I haven’t played a management sim in YEARS. Here’s hoping I don’t give myself a migraine learning how to play.

I’m playing it right now.

It’s okay I guess, but as the licence goes on I have a much harder time to get hooked. Maybe it’s because I don’t have as much time as I used to, maybe because I’ve been playing it on and off for more than ten year, maybe because the games are getting bloatier and bloatier.

I kinda liked the last one I tried (07), but it wasn’t the same as 00-01, but then I was a mildly depressive student far from home, and played for solid days…

I had to do a quick review of FM 10, but I’m not even sure I really got the hang of the match engine… I think they really should try to streamline the game and give a better feedback. Of course you’ve got assistants and whatnot, but they’re just a way to hide the complexity.

I guess now they’re happy to please their core community and catch newcomers with walls of fascinating states.

Maybe the suspension of disbelief is not what it used to be from my part.

Football Manager or Championship Manager? The franchise split into two when the SIGames upped and left their previous publisher (the publisher kept the name - SIGames left with the game expertise and have continued producing good games - although the game changes very little from year to year).

I mentally corrected to Football Manager, but maybe I’m wrong.

I read that they changed the development team behind CM and that it was getting better… Didn’t they offer CM 2010 for 10£ + whatever you want or something ?