Christmas in Germany! (or Austria)

I’ve got almost everyone sold on the idea of a Christmas in Germany (or Austria). Problem, however, is that i have no knowledge whatsoever would be the best places to go. I thought i’d ask here before going to the travel agent.

Here’s what i’d like to find:

-Vibrant Christmas markets
-Romanic German cities (not looking for ultra-modern)
-Skiing nearby (2+ driving hours) a plus
-Picturesque settings and countryside a plus
-Reasonably
-Near to ancenstral town of origin (somewhere in Poland across from Berlin). Pretty low on totem pole of importance.
-Has to be feasible for English speakers.

I’d like to be on the Baltic coast to hop over to Scandinavia, but getting some skiing in would be great.

Any ideas where to start?

Bavaria is fantastic at Christmas. When the snow falls, everywhere looks like a Christmas card. The Baltic Coast is not so nice: there’s not much there and the weather is wet, windy as well as freezing.

I’d say: go to Munich. You can be in the amazing Garmich-Partenkirche about an hour away, and there’s plenty of skiing there. The, admitedly kitsch, fairytale Neuschwanstein castle is also nearby, and looks amazing, especially under snow.

There’s a bunch of nice places nearby, like Nuremberg and Bamberg, and Innsbruck and Austria are just across the border. It’s also probably the safest place in the world.

Every German city has a vibrant Christmas market, and you can get by without knowing German pretty much everywhere, although eastern Germany is more of a struggle than the west.

I’d definitely pick somewhere in Bavaria if you want to be in Germany for Christmas, without a doubt. Pick Munich if you want the big city life, with a central location where you can get to everything, but if you want small town medieval beauty go to Bamberg, which is a little gem.

Austria is great if you can pass for an Aryan. If you or someone in your group can’t, I’d say look to spend Xmas in Germany instead.