Cleaning Windows (permanently)

I’m not very good at this and “wipe/reinstalls” scare me. I found myself with a CMD.exe virus and it was affecting my computer in bad ways. Anti-virus couldn’t fix it so I figured it was time for a reinstall. I backed everything to my F drive and reached for my Windows XP disc.

I grabbed the Professional Edition MS sent me for a project I did last year… not the home version I had originally used.

Because I’m dumb I didn’t pay really close attention to what it was doing. It loaded onto the F drive, not the C drive. It left everything intact (thank god). I noticed this on reboot. I opened the case, switched F to Master and C to Slave and then tried to format C (using Windows). It wouldn’t complete the format… it says it can’t.

Now when I reboot it asks me which Windows XP (pro or home) to load. I don’t want a dual boot. Can anyone tell me how to nuke Windows off my Drive C for good? Do I need to use a boot disk and do a DOS wipe? I thought with XP, DOS was over with?

EDIT to ADD:
No partitions. C and F are seperate hard drives who love together in sin.

What I’m asking, basically, is how do I wipe C: completely. I’ll leave F and XP Pro as my boot hard drive and use C as the backup. Should I do it with a boot 3.5 disc then? I’d heard with Windows XP you could format without a 3.5" disc and DOS

I’m glad I’m not you, Bub :o

Andrew,

You can probably use fdisk to delete the partition, then create a new partition. This should wipe windows off your old C:\ drive, and make it ready for a nice, fresh reinstall.

If you run into issues with the master boot record trying to dual boot, fdisk /mbr cleans the master boot record. Do this ONLY if you’re sure you want to nuke the mbr, though!

If you need a bootdisk, you can get one (easily) from www.bootdisk.com.

No sorry, no partitions. C and F are seperate hard drives who love together in sin.