Comic Suggestions?

I’m into Dawn, The Crow, Blade, Hellboy, Preacher, Bad World, stuff like that. I’m relatively new to the comic community, but i enjoy somewhat of a darker theme, good artwork, substancial storylines and off the wall type things. So i was wondering, i know people here are well informed, what’s out there that would spark my interest? Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jacquie

Liberty Meadows.

Okay, it’s not a dark or wacko comic, but it is a lot of fun.

Hmm… you kinda hit the high points in a way. Basically the only series I’m getting currently is:

1602 (limited)
Hedge Knight (limited)
Ghost in the Shell 2: Man-Machine Interface (limited)
Liberty Meadows
Hellboy

Maybe a few others when interest sparks (Danger Girl for instance).

— Alan

Hellblazer sounds like it would be up your alley. If you liked Bad World, then you would most likely appreciate other classics from Warren Ellis. Transmetropolitan, the first two TPB’s of ‘The Authority’, Global Frequency, SCARS. You owe it to yourself to pick up Alan Moore’s ‘Watchmen’, and his League of Extraordinary Gentlemen is awfully entertaining. Grant Morrison and Garth Ennis are also great - Preacher, The Invisibles, The Filth, etc. Recently, I’ve enjoyed Wildcats version 3.0, but it’s not as enjoyable if you haven’t at least read 2.0 (which had some fantastic art, courtesy of Travis Charest). Automatic Kafka seemed promising, but died a premature death due to low sales. That’s all that comes to me off the top of my head. I’m sure I’ll have a ton more for you in a few days.

Look for the collections of the Sandman and Swamp Thing, both from DC comics. They would seem to fit right in with your tastes as well.

Gregory!

Heh. Hellblazer’s a good choice, as someone else pointed out. Books of Magic isn’t as dark, but it’s in the same vein, and it’s good. Check out a few one-offs like the Watchmen or V For Vendetta.

I have almost never been disappointed by Alan Moore. I recommend