Dealing with debt

Long story short, i went back to university and obtained an engineering degree. I had been working part time for about two years, and the final year i took the whole year off just to finish the degree as fast as possible, taking 16-17 hours both semesters. Obviously this wasn’t particularly great for my income to debt ratio.

Fast forward to today and not only am i’m back to doing the same job i was doing (#worthit) making the degree a complete waste of time, but now am making 17.5% less that i was when i started. I had expected to graduate into a job that would give me something like 2.5x my income to my secured and unsecured debt (this doesn’t include my home payments); my income is only 1.65x my debt now, and so now almost all my after tax income goes to debt servicing. I realized a couple months ago i find myself in a debt trap.

So here are my options:

1. Find a job in the degree. This seems about 0% likely, so isn’t on the table, though i keep looking.
  2. Advance in my current position. This seems about 90% certain, and i should increase my income back to where i started a few years ago in a couple of months (so my debt to income ration goes back to 2x).
  3. Take debt consolidation help. I’ve contacted some credit counseling companies randomly. I’m very skeptical and wary of this path, but at least i could reduce the interest rate to something manageable. The problem is that they would close all of my credit cards and send me back 20 years in credit and status; basically i’d be starting all over again. Just a couple of years ago i had an 820 credit score; this could plummet my score down to below 600. You could argue that with interest rates so low it doesn’t really matter all that much.
  4. Refinance my home and take out enough equity to pay off the debt. This would save my credit score and fix a lot of problems but would leave me holding a note that could very, very easily be underwater in value a couple of years.