Deleting Facebook

#1

I am so irritated.

I “deleted” my Facebook accounts a year or so ago. (I had two, because I think I drunkenly signed up for one with my phone number and then forgot about it.)

I was recently reminded that someone was able to still see, tag, and otherwise interact with me. “Fuck that,” I said. “What a fucking pile of ass. I don’t want to fucking talk to any of you people. Also, fuck your data lake, get the fuck out of my life.”

So tonight, I finally go there and try to log in. On both:

“You have selected to delete your account. Your data will all be deleted by June 7, 2019. Click [cancel deletion] to avoid this, or [logout] to continue deleting your account.”

This is the same fucking message I saw when I chose to delete them both last year. Except probably not dated to June 7, 2019.

Fuck them. I hope all their investors get a previously unknown, untreatable, and aggressive strain of syphilis and that they all share it with Facebook management without giving them a choice about it.

Assholes.

#2

Not defending Facebook, but if you follow the permanent delete instructions it will happen. I’m kind of a street preacher about it so I’ve been through the process a few times with people.

Still, it’d be cool if you could check a box that says “disable all the ways most people inadvertently interact with their account during the waiting period; I’m very serious about this.”

#3

I have literally not interacted with it for a year-ish. It takes that long? Smells like bullshit.

#4

Maybe some app or something is pinging it?

#5

Deleted the app forever ago, never used it for logins or any integrations.

#6

This is my guess. Somewhere, you authenticated with Facebook (maybe Spotify? Something else similar?) and that site/service is pinging regularly to see if you have any new content germane to their offering.

I agree about your sentiment.

#7

There’s just no excuse for silently extending the grace period based on automated interactions. The only possible way the grace period should adjust is if you affirmatively answer a “do you want to cancel the account deletion?” question.

That said, I can’t believe that this is intentional, rather than some kind of weird edge-case bug. This is the kind of thing that multi-billion Euro fines are made of, if it were to be intentional and ever accidentally applied to somebody in the EU.