Depression, Terminal Illness and Letting Go

I am a gamer. I say it loud. I say it proud. I’ve been a gamer since the early 80s, and have owned every console since the Atari 2600 and have had a gaming computer since my Apple IIes.
Recently, I was diagnosed with a terminal illness, and my life started to implode. I had to go on disability from work, the wife started eyeing the door, and the money started to dry up. I had long swathes of time at home. Time to take care of the backlog, right? Well, I did that. It was alright. But then I had more time. I did what I always wanted to do. I started playing EVE Online. I started MOBAs, now that I had the time to git gud.
I got gud, but it was empty. People are toxic. Especially in these games.
The last bastion of my joy: Paradox games, which I have clocked 1000s of hours are more and more multiplayer balanced.
I am (was) a professional, middle-aged, working in a field where you don’t really talk about gaming in conference calls or meeting rooms. I don’t have the time or inclination anymore to devote; and there really aren’t games that are doing it for me anymore.
Imagine seasons changing outside, and I’m still plugging away, except that I’m now back at work. My illness is in remission enough to let me work, and I’m rebuilding what little is left of my life, begging creditors for time and trying my best not to lose all hope.
I’ve talked to some people in our community, most notably about survivors depression, and how, no matter how much of a second chance I’ve been given, I can’t seem to pull out of this. I don’t know how much of this is the depression, how much of it is that I’ve become too much of a fossil that hasn’t grown with gaming, and how much of this is that I’m just done.