Doing something you know nothing about

I should have started this thread a long time ago. Periodically my boss will ask me to do something that I have no experience with. I the past I would start various threads, so now Ill have just one thread to capture all the times this happens.

Anyway, THIS time they asked me to do a web application. We have this tool which is a MFC based application and now they want it “Done as a web page”. I have never done a web application or anything like it. After asking around some people pointed me to Google Web toolkit. Is this a good framework?

Now a further request came in, that this web app work just as well on a standard desktop web browser as well as on mobile platforms, such as tablets and cell phones. I spent some time googling this and it seems to me that if you want something to look good on a mobile platform, especially cell phones that you need to write a separate “mobile” version of your web site. In other words, there isn’t any magic framework that will make it look good on a desktop and cell phone with a single web app. Is this true or am I missing something? I think at best that I can make a good looking a desktop web app, and it might be “ok” on a tablet, but certainly not any good on a cell phone. I just want to double check before I tell my boss that if he wants cell phone support he will need two separate web apps / web sites.

I don’t know what to say. I don’t know GWT but looks good.
Most people use JQuery with plugins, and the real programming is in the serverside in $Your_favorite_language.