Dom2: What up with the Void Gate?

Can someone explain how this damn Void Gate works? I can’t find anything about it in the manual or help text. It says “Enter to summon void beasts.” Only certain commanders (priests, I think?) can take the “Enter Void Gate” command, but when I do it, nothing happens. WTF?

I thought I read that only R’yleh can make use of void gates. I have no first hand experience though. But, come on, it’s a void gate, who else but the spawn of Cthulu would want to go in there.

No, I know, but I’m playing R’yleh (in a game against the AI), and I can’t get it to work. There’s a certain type of Starspawn that is a third-level priest, and IIRC he’s the only commander who can be told “Enter Void Gate” (not even my pretender can go in). But I give the order, and next turn everything’s exactly the same. Although most of the commander orders are covered in the manual, this one isn’t.

Just keep him summoning, there is a cumulative chance that he will succesfully summon a critter. Succes is certain after 3-4 turns. As soon as he has succesfully summoned one critter the summoner will recieve summoning skill that will increase the power (but not the probability of getting) the critters from the gate. All commanders have a chance of going insane or being attacked when they use the gate. The starspawn priests are much less likely to suffer insanity.

Thanks Johan!

I may go insane trying to figure out what is going on in this game :) I know there’s a good or even great strategy game here but man is this obtuse at times…

Yeah, I used to think I was a smart sumbitch, but this game’s interface has me completely baffled. Can someone link Geryk’s FAQ again?

Walkthrough: http://www.illwinter.com/dom2/walkthru.html (now hosted on the official site in even harder-to-read colors!!)

Strat guide: http://www.illwinter.com/dom2/strategy_guide.html