eBay question for you old hands

Ok, I’ve never used eBay before, but I just won my first auction–a copy of Imperialism II for $4.25. So they notified me that I won and had a PayPal button for me to click on. I clicked on it and made the payment. Now, do I need to do anything else? I assume the guy knows where to send the game, since they asked for a shipping address when I did the PayPal thing. Should I contact him? Is that essential, or is it considered annoying, or what?

I dunno. I buy lots of stuff online, but I’ve never done it this way before, so I feel a little uncomfortable, not knowing the process…

He has enough info to finish the deal. However, you can still contact him if you want.

I am not an old hand, but I’ve done it enough. I had one guy who kept emailing me from bogus email accounts. It wouldn’t be so bad, but he kept insisting I get in touch with him because his package hadn’t arrived. Ever time I wrote, the message would bounce. He sent three messages over a three day period and each message he would get more and more excited. Finally he sent me a phone number. When I called him up, he had no explanation for his behavior. What a nut!

What if he doesn’t send it? I’m sure he will, since he has a good reputation rating with eBay, but what if he wouldn’t? Am I just S.O.L. or do I have some recourse?

Since you paid through PayPal, you might have some. eBay bought PayPal and does apply some guarantees if the vendor you bought from is registered and verified. There should be some help pages at both eBay and PayPal that can better direct you.

eBay is a pretty interesting place. The Wild West of the Internet. I am amazed at the number of things you can buy there, and the weird characters there that have accounts, yet seem to lack the IQ necessary to turn on a computer.