Entertaining (or educational) Podcasts for doing dishes

I’m still new to the whole Apple environment having never subscribed to any audio streaming stuff. So I’m looking for podcasts, or “audio stuff” that I can stream from my iPad when I’m cleaning the house. Comedy, science, fiction… any suggestions on stuff that’s interesting or fun for a nerd?

OK I downloaded a few to my PC (iTunes) and I can’t find a podcast thing anywhere on my iPad. Help!

A couple of the ones that I tend to listen to:

My History Can Beat Up Your Politics – long title, but descriptive. The narrator takes modern-day political doings and compares them to similar situations that have occurred in US history… like whether or not a debate can be a game-changer, or whether picking a VP to carry a state you would not have won otherwise is a good idea or not. If you’re not interested in politics, the narrator’s voice may put you to sleep, but it is well-researched and wonks like myself find it fascinating.

Wait Wait, Don’t Tell Me – the podcast version of the NPR radio show. Hilarious.

This American Life – same deal.

Skeptoid – a critical examination (not always a debunking) of pop-culture or urban myths or just ghost stories. It varies in quality and his “clip shows” where he answers student questions can be a little too snarky, but overall this is worthwhile and educational.

If you’re using iOS 6, there should be a separate podcasts app (it’s purple and looks like an “i” with radio waves emanating from it. If you’re not on iOS 6, it’s a separate field under “More” in the Music app (or whatever it’s called on iPad). You may have to edit the fields to get “podcasts” to show up.

As for specific recommendations:

Comedy:

Wait, Wait… as recommended above.
The Bugle - Transatlantic news satire/silliness with John Oliver and Andy Zaltzmann
Answer Me This - Semi-serious advice show, but mostly comedy