First Bass guitar suggestions

After seeing the topic on guitar suggestions I decided to start one for Bass. I started playing a month or two ago and so far I’ve been renting equipment from the place I get lessons from. I am thinking about buying one, currently I am using a Stagg 4-string fusion, and I was wondering if any readers here have any input on the subject.

There are a lot of good deals for entry level basses these days. Yamaha’s low end basses are surprisingly good rock basses for the money. A friend of mine picked up a Yamaha 5-string for $300 and sometimes prefers the rock tone to his $2000 Alembic.

The same advice from the other thread applies here as well: go to a music store and spend an afternoon jamming. There are a lot of very solid options in the under-$400 range from just about any manufacturer.

avoid a 5 string or fretless if your just starting. Make sure the place your buying from can set it up for you. Bass setup makes a lot of difference to how it plays. That’s assuming you buy one that can be setup, which you want. Should probably define that, you can adjust how far off the fretboard the strings are. To far and it becomes difficult to push the string down far enough, especially with your pinky, to close has it’s own set of problems.

I personally own a yamaha fretless and a fender p-bass.

Thanks for the tips, I’ll probably start looking around this weekend.

Fender Squiers are good-playing, good-sounding, low-cost starter basses. Hell I played a Squier Jazz for about 10 years before ever wanting another bass. That said, they’re a bit hit or miss in terms of quality. The one point of advice I would offer is do not buy a lower price instrument (or any instrument, really) from a catalog. Quality can vary from bass to bass dramatically and you really want to try out the instrument you’re interested in first.

Ibanez are a good mid-price player-friendly bass (i.e. thin necks) that sound great right out of the box.