Flickr relaunch

Comes with 1TB of storage and full resolution photos. New site design.

Wow, nice! The new photostream looks god damned sweet.

Cool. All my shit is on Flickr. May be time to throw them some cash.

Their relaunch is a disincentive to give them money. Pro is now $50 instead of $25 annually and its only benefit is no-ads.

I agree. I’ve been a Pro subscriber for a long time because I wanted the organization tools (not available for the free accounts) and wanted the full-quality uploads (important for my astrophotography images). Since these are now available with the free accounts, I have no desire to pay $50 a year.

I suspect that I could have gotten those features elsewhere for free in the meantime, but haven’t because of inertia. I haven’t done any research into photo sites recently, so I don’t really know what the competition is.

Thanks guys.

Note that current Pro users will be grandfathered for the time being, at the current $25 rate with unlimited storage. How long that will last is anyone’s guess.

Yes, it seems like that is the point. They want you to stay rather than moving your photos to facebook or google+. They don’t want your money, because their competitors are free.

I pay $60/year for Smugmug. I prefer their layout, but AFAICT the main reason I stay is inertia and ability to use a custom domain.

Is there something I’m missing about how I’m supposed to get all my photos on there? What good is 1TB of storage if I can’t simply add the folders I already have? All their site seems to allow are individual files within folders rather than the folders themselves…I definitely don’t want to dig through hundreds of folders and select-all in them one-by-one.

It’s been a while since I had Flickr hosting my pics, but I seem to recall they had a bunch of tools to assist w/ uploads.

The Flickr Uploadr allows you to drag a folder full of pics for upload:
http://www.flickr.com/tools/