Game Making Tools

Ok, so like a lot of people, occasionally I get ideas for games. This time I got an idea that doesn’t sound insanely hard to implement, actually, and maybe I could take a stab at making it. People are making all kinds of games all the time!

I’m thinking 3D, first person. What tools are available for people to make these kinds of games in? I’m not a “programmer,” although I have programmed things and I can learn. I am much less an artist in that I have no experience making 3D models.

We’re talking free tools, here, I’m not made of money. I don’t care if it looks good, at least at first. That whole lo-fi PS1 aesthetic that is going around would be superb. I promise I’m not drunk right now, even though this sounds like exactly the kind of post a drunk person would make.

Unity, if for no other reasons than the fact that it has plenty of learning resources, is very popular and has an asset store.

Best of luck (I am keeping this brief on the basis that you may be drunk).

I’m totally not drunk!

Our students use Unity a lot, as well as Unreal. Unreal has Blueprints, which allow for a form of visual drag and drop construction of a lot of game loops, though naturally programming skills come in rather handy.

I always recommend the Godot Engine (also available on Steam, btw).

Unity has the lowest barrier to entry. You can also make a lot of mistakes in it that can screw up a project as it grows if you don’t research, but that’s more of an issue for production games. A one person game will be fine.

It’s mostly about the learning resources and availability of assets. Basically means you can use other people’s work to dress up your ideas, and will save tons of time.

Unreal is great, but definitely a harder barrier to enter if you can code slightly competently (Unteals blueprints allow for some stuff to be done easily, but they scale problematic ally without harder coding than Unity’s C# API, imho).