Game Reviewing for profit

So how does one get to be a professional game reviewer these days? Is it even still possible?

Unfortunately it is no longer possible to review games for a profit.

About 18 months ago, the last of the human game reviewers were replaced by machines. Now, all reviews are computer generated based on variables fed in by personnel.

But fear not, those machines still need people fix them and do the data entry into them. The “Tom Chick” unit, in particular, is apparently in constant need of repair…

55 views and that’s the only reply. I guess all the jobs really are taken.

I’m far from an expert, but I have a couple very uninformed ideas on the matter.

Be a good writer. You need to write gooder than a rock. Wait, nevermind that. I imagine it does help a littlebit though.

Ok, seriously now. Maybe you could put together a couple sample reviews of about 1000 - 1500 words in length. One being a review of a game you liked, another for a game you didn’t like. I’ve noticed that people have no problem reviewing games they love, but try and get them to give an informed opinion on a game they don’t like and you’ll see their faces contort. Submit your sample reviews to a couple lesser known review site, or even a larger site like Avault that is always looking for people.

Ohh, you could always write for http://www.diygames.com! We’re always looking for people to write reviews and previews. Currently there are a large number of puzzle games (of course) and a few RPG and strategy games that need to be given the once over. Free games, and a little cash. Not a bad deal for reviewing some indie games from time to time.

Once you’ve written a decent number of reviews for lesser sites it should make it that much easier to move into the realm of making money with your work. I could be completely wrong, but it seems that becoming known through your reviews will allow you to get one step closer to making the all important dollar.