Gen Con 2020 Cancelled

https://www.gencon.com/press/updates-gen-con-covid19

I will miss it. My wife and I have been attending since 1987. I will be happy to see the hind end of this misbegotten year.

I was thinking about this the other day, wondering when they would cancel. Man, that’s a hit to Indianapolis. That must pull tens of millions into the area.

There’s a Steampunk weekend in Hannibal, MO I went to a couple of years ago. It’s scheduled for August. They get about 15.000 people in for it. I go to people watch and ogle the cool stuff for sale in the booths. I’m expecting it to cancel as well.

I’m bummed. This would be my first GenCon and we had the best hotel booked. Badge bumped to 2021, no luck doing that with hotel. So we’ll probably get screwed on that…

Pretty sure it will be. Even Essen Spiel, the biggest boardgame convention in Europe, which takes place in October, has been cancelled (they call it postponed until next year). UK Games Expo (which, I believe, was postponed until August) has now officially moved to a virtual con this year too.

The roleplaying world has also pretty much completely shifted to online conventions this year. all the panels are online, games are run online and virtual booths display vendor wares you can order.

The email we got from Gen Con said that, if you had booked a hotel via the housing portal, your reservation would be cancelled automatically. We had booked a room at a Wingate we had stayed at last year, directly through the Wyndham Rewards website. So we just found the email confirming our reservation, clicked through to a page where you could change or cancel your reservation, and cancelled that way.
Those who booked flights to Indy for Gen Con will need to cancel those reservations, too, presumably through wherever they made the original reservation.