Gnome frost mage w/goblin engineering: discuss

OK, so I am a WoW newbie with little time to play. When the folks at work were discussing their classes, it seemed like there was room for a mage.

After reading the manual a bit, I decided that a gnomish mage engineer was the way to go. This guy’s passion in life is to freeze bad guys solid and then blow them up with the largest possible bomb. So I named him Wunhytte (surname “Wonder”), and now he’s level 14 and building up his mining skill, climbing up the frost talent tree. Someday he’ll learn goblin engineering and from then on he’ll be Mr. Icy Hand Grenade, or Sir Freeze 'Em And Bwast 'Em.

First thing is I have no idea how engineering skill works. But I can read up on that on the web. Second thing is I don’t really care whether this character concept makes sense, it sounds like fun. But the third thing is I do have an uneasy feeling that maybe bombs are an insane grind to build and goblin engineering in general is only for crafting wonks, which I’m definitely not (I’d rather be killing things).

So… is this a bog stupid character concept for some reason? Please unleash your harshest assessments.
Cheers!
Rob

I don’t have much comment (my mage is fire/arcane), but I think it’s awesome that you’re role-playing a character instead of playing the min/max game. I started doing the same thing with my Gnomish warrior. He’s tiny, but he’s MEAN.

Gnomes rock. We get ALL the chicks, too.

I went gnomish engineering simply because I liked having cool gadgets, and most of the high level gnomish ones persist (unlike bombs you burn an arcanite bar for or something). There’s nothing like whipping out SUPER CHICKEN during a close fight. As a mage you might like that better, simply because, well, you’ll already have the blowing stuff up part set.

Levelling up engineering is pretty easy once you get to 30 or so and can afford to blow a few gold on the AH for materials.