Going back to school... again

I hate my job. In fact, I hate the line of business I’m in. I work for a large tech company and I’m one of the lead technician supporting several large clients. I hate it completely. I’m tired of phone calls and being overall nice to people all day long.

I could go with my backup, I guess, since I have a culinary degree specialized in pastry. The problem with this is that I absolutely hate cooking as well. I know, I know, bad fucking move on the Culinary degree. I wish I could take it back.

So recently, I’ve been in hell. My wife and I moved to a new city and this job is honestly giving me health problems. I finally reached a point that after 11 years of this crap that I feel like if I have to do this too much longer I’m going to go completely batshit insane. The only job in the last 11 years that I remember liking was my stint with programming. I started out as a web programmer with a company and moved up to C.

So, I’m thinking about going back to school to get a degree… which degree would be best for someone who wants to program? Basic CS? Engineering? What does everyone think?

Seriously, how in the living fuck did this happen, then?

Well, I didn’t hate it then. What happened was that I was tired of my field (again) and wanted to change. I thought that cooking would give me a level of creativity as well as being an easy field to get a job in. Both are true, but I got married and didn’t want to devote the time required to start a new restaurant and don’t want to work the 80-100 hour weeks required to be a sous or exec chef.

I dunno, bad choice

Whoah, you can move to Vegas and not have to work 80-100 hours as a sous or exec chef. My ex-fiancee was a sous chef. She worked 40 and horked the prestige of working in Vegas BAYBEE.

Seriously. And it’s not just because I want a threesome with you and your wife.

I would love to, but we can’t really leave for quite some time.

I’m sure Bill would come to you guys.