Good installer making software?

Preferably free to cheap.

I’m slowly glueing together my indie gaming masterpiece over here and I’m getting towards an early ‘tech test’ milestone. I’d hopefully like to distribute it to get some feedback on how well the engine works on different machines.

Unfortunately I don’t have much experience in packaging up and delivering software to the end user. Does anyone here roll their own installers?

Any advice on installer making or software packaging up for end users in general would be much appreciated.

From what I know, and I’m no programmer, NSIS is a pretty good (open source and free) customizable installer system for Windows. I’ve installed a lot of apps and I usually see that installer pop up the most.

NSIS means you have to program in a Pascal-like language. It’s bad for two reasons:

1. It’s like Pascal
  2. It’s like Pascal

Assuming you only want support for Windows, check out Inno Installer and MSI.

I’m only looking at windows as a target platform right now. Thanks for the reccomendations so far.

Currently I’m leaning toward Inno over NSIS since it seems more windowsy oriented from a surface glance, plus the ever present fear of dead languages.

Scanning over that MSI documentation it looks like a confusing mess. Windows 2000 CD? Though I often find that searching Microsoft’s website is like panning for gold. Unrivalled breadth of information but they don’t half delight in making it tricky to pull out even with some dedicated google fu.

Oops, I just pasted the first seemingly-related link google found for me on the microsoft site. Try finding better info from the Wikipedia page. A quick google turns up this freeware MSI creator.