Good Lord, Company of Heroes is good

It’s 2 A.M. and I just captured the bridgehead on the way to St. Lo (Mission 8).

I started playing this game last… October? November?.. when it came out. Got up to mission 6 and then NWN2 shipped and I got distracted. And then I got into my open source project and didn’t touch a game (except Crackdown) all year.

Until now. Finally I’m playing this on my new X1950 Pro AGP card and GOOD CHRIST it is beautiful. Can’t… stop… PLAYING. (Well, actually I can; thank God there are separate missions!)

The power of combined arms… the beauty of a point blank Calliope salvo into a Nazi headquarters… the back-and-forth around a town square… the driving a quad-.50-cal halftrack onto the roof of a V-2 base…

I mean, it’s all just SO GOOD. Thank God it sold well enough for them to make a sequel. I just pray they can keep it going, like, forever, because one day this series will be damn near the ultimate wargame… it pretty much is already.

You’ve really been missing out. All the Grand Theft Auto games are like this and you didn’t even know it.

NEW BLOOD! I just finally started a couple of weeks ago. pfreak and a couple others hang out in Semois channel but i only played pfreak a couple times. i’m a bit newbish so must be boring for him

I’ve never played it. Someone want to send me a copy?

I love games that turn out like this. If every game I ever purchased gave me the value I’ve gotten out of Gothic 3 and Titan Quest, I would only have to purchase like 4 games a year, which would save me a lot of money.

wisefool, I don’t play RTS multiplayer. I’m not good enough at the interface; I’m an utter and complete pause-whore; and I’m also an inveterate turtler. ANY human opponent would stomp me into the ground and then laugh, and laugh, and laugh.