Graduate school for comp sci

Currently I’m an undergraduate majoring in computer science. I enjoy programming, and I am talented (relatively speaking). I would take jobs doing it, but my passion lies in game design, not programming. I love games of all kinds, the way players interact with rules, and with each other. I love player learning and competition and interfaces, etc.

I keep being pushed by a professor at school to go to grad school after I graduate. He says I would excel, and probably qualify for a generous fellowship (I don’t know if that’s true. He says not many americans get a master’s in cs, and there is money for those who do). Either way, my question is this: If I went to grad school, could I study something closer to game design than traditional cs topics like AI, path finding, searches, etc? I don’t know a whole lot about grad school, but it seems like what I love is perhaps closer to psychology maybe? I really don’t know exactly how it works, or what sorts of topics I’d be limited to studying / being taught.

I’m not opposed to the idea of getting a master’s (even in another applicable subject), but I want it to further my interests, not just make me more money doing something I’m not as passionate about. I don’t want to get fed up with programming after 10 years and then go teach; I want to make games until I’m dead. Yes, I realize I don’t need a degree -or even a job- to do this. I make games, even if they’re mediocre at best. I want to make them professionally, and get much better at it, but I’m absolutely NOT an entrepreneur of any sort.

I apologize for the scattered brain spittle.

Speaking as someone for whom grad school was an unmitigated disaster,

Do it. It will open doors for you, and give you a chance to really gain some knowledge in a key area.

I thought most people in the field seemed to agree that a master’s in cs was pretty close to worthless? Do those game design colleges offer grad programs that are worth taking?