Help me be good at hamburgers

Two part question: I’m bad at grilling hamburgers. I usually just buy pre-made burgers from the grocery store, and then grill them either too long, or I obsessively check them every 60 seconds, and still have a hard time knowing exactly when they’re done.

So first of all, anyone have any favorite recipes for making good hamburger patties from scratch?

And second, I’m a real novice at actually using the grill. Who’s got some good tips for the actual cooking?

I realize we’re basically mid-winter, but no time like the present to start working on my skills for the summer.

I’m no expert, but I know what I like when it comes to grilling a burger on my gas grill.

No recipe, a good burger doesn’t need anything. I buy around a pound of meat, usually 85% lean since I want fat for a good burger, and form it into 4 burgers. Refrigerate for a few hours so they don’t break apart.

Set all burners on the grill on high for about 10 minutes. I am looking for well over 500º on my grill’s thermometer. Season both sides with salt and pepper. Since you will lose some in the cooking process, don’t be shy here. I grill about 2 minutes a side, putting cheese on them after the first turn. The time is not set in stone. Since the meat is fatty it will get flare ups, and sometimes they are a bit too thick, etc.

Toast the bun of course because that makes a burger 10x better.

Minimum 20% fat in your ground beef. You can get fancy and grind up a custom blend of chuck, shortrib, brisket, $200/lb wagyu, whatever, but tbh, some grass fed 20% chuck from the grocery store is fine, especially since the grill is gonna kinda dominate the flavor anyway (in my opinion).