I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream

So I started playing this. It’s a SCUMM game from 1995. I don’t like adventure games usually but this produced quite my interest. Did anybody play this? It’s amazing… I did no expect this from such an old game. I think about making a text only longplay because this appears to be so freaking different. From wikipedia (no spoilers):

So far I’ve only played for a couple of hours and it’s “quite” oldskool for a myriad of reasons. Unfortunately it appears IHNMAIMS has never established an “important subgenre”, maybe anbody is aware of comparable games?

I hope you bought this, and didn’t warez it from somewhere, or Harlan Ellison himself will come to your house and kick your ass. Then he’ll sue you.

HATE. LET ME TELL YOU HOW MUCH I’VE COME TO HATE YOU SINCE I BEGAN TO LIVE. THERE ARE 387.44 MILLION MILES OF PRINTED CIRCUITS IN WAFER THIN LAYERS THAT FILL MY COMPLEX. IF THE WORD HATE WAS ENGRAVED ON EACH NANOANGSTROM OF THOSE HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS OF MILES IT WOULD NOT EQUAL ONE ONE-BILLIONTH OF THE HATE I FEEL FOR HUMANS AT THIS MICRO-INSTANT. HATE. HATE.

I just post this here

The probability that this (our universe) is a simulation is very high.

Also: llamas.

Greatest point & click game I played until The Walking Dead. I loved it. I still have my retail box.

You read too much Charlie Stross :)

Yeah, I played that. Late at night. I was on a serious Ellison binge at the time, read everything I could find. I remember enjoying the game and being disturbed at the same time. It’s not every day you get to play as a Nazi war criminal.

I have this on my shelf (back when I bought it I got a fancy mousepad too!), but I never really got very far. I didn’t realize it ran in ScummVM so maybe I should fire it up.

This.

The story, which differs quite a bit from the game, is completely amazing. Ellison might be loony toons, but he was a remarkable writer. This story is some of his best work.