If you could start over, what direction would you take?

Ok, I’m middle-age, my job of 25 years is playing out, and I have an Associates degree (with 16 hours of chem) and live near a major university. I am thinking about living off my savings for a year or so and completing my degree. What field would you suggest? Outside of engineering and accounting, which seem to favor fresh out of home grads. What has the best value with security? What are your experiences (and folks you know) with changing your career and direction in life?

Pharmacy.

That it’s a bad idea to pursue degrees and careers based on money or social pressure. Figure out what you’re passionate about and maybe you’ll find something to do that’s more than just a job.

First, recognize that most people switch careers several times over. Secondly, I agree with the above - focus on what you enjoy doing and extrapolate from there.

Agreed. And this cannot be stressed enough. Try not to listen to the so-called realists who are going to show up in this tread telling you it’s too late to change gears and no one ever gets what they want, you shouldn’t have taken so many liberal arts courses.

I know several people who have changed direction in their mid-late thirties, and beyond. The latest of which is a friend who went back to school at 51 and is now a Professor, happily doing her thing. The key is to pick something you love to do. If you can’t imagine doing what you’re doing now for another 20 years, then go do something else. Life is too short to be doing work that doesn’t nourish you. It’s okay to be scared.

I can appreciate that, Ryan, but at this stage I want to weigh all the factors–pay, security, education requirements, demand; and winnow it down to something I can enjoy/tolerate. I’m not dismissing your advice, though. High on my list for 2nd careers is something I can really pour myself into.