IGN Advertising is Evil

Ok, I’m not normally one to pile on IGN – in fact, I have a subscription to the site – but this has to be one of the worst forms of advertising I’ve ever seen.

Look through the article and you are sure to find some completely useless links. They simply point back to the original article on NBA Street 3. Hover over the links and get a nasty, evil surprise in the form of tooltip advertising you never knew you wanted (because you didn’t).

Arghh. Wasting my time with this shit will make me cancel my subscription in a hurry. Is this showing up on its sister site, Gamespy as well?

By the way, this complete waste of the reader’s time is called IntelliTXT (http://ign.us.intellitxt.com/whatisIntelliTXT.asp?ipid=553&cc=us). Evil has a name.

That crap has been poping up on other sites as well. Go have a look at some threads on halflife2.net 's forums and you’ll see it in actual posts which makes it super annoying.

I’ve tried to block IntelliTXT but no luck do far.

I’ve successfully blocked intellitxt using Firefox’s adblock. I believe it was just intellitxt, but as I’m not on my home machine I can’t be sure.

Thanks BobJustBob, blocking http://intellitxt worked for me too.

Ah, thankee! Worked like a charm! Hey, as a side note, you know those pages they redirect you to sometimes before showing you the article? Any way to kill those off?

The ads between, interstitials, I can handle. But the text within an article as an ad is just breaking a fundemental idea of the web. I hate that shit. In ie the links look different, but in firefox, they just look like regular links. Either way they stink.

Odd thing is, those ads pay like shit, but some people are desperate to squeeze every penny out of every page.

Chet

I would like to block that stuff too but I seem to be blind today as I can’t locate where to block stuff in FireFox, someone feel like directing me to where I can do that please?