Is the internet an extension of our brains now...

Or is it a crutch?

I was out in my backyard and I had a question about the lyrics of a song in my head. I immediately looked for my phone. That got me thinking. Do we depend upon search engines too much? Are we thinking less?

I’m probably overthinking this. Or underthinking it. :)

Any thoughts?

A job interviewer got miffed at me in 2008 because he said the Internet extended his brain so knowing facts didn’t matter and I said memorization was still better. I didn’t get the job. Maybe he’s right in 2021?

Memorisation really doesn’t matter near as much in 2021. Being able to find what you need and getting the correct information efficiently is more useful.

As a software developer, I certainly make liberal use of the knowledge out there. And my coding is no worse for it. It’s how the information is applied which matters.

Same for boardgames. Rather than pore once again over a 30 pages rulebook, I’ll just Google the answer to my question. Chances are it’s been answered before.

I’m old school and I still remember some stuff, but I’m happy to let the net remember most things for me. Also, 15 year old me would be very surprised at how few phone numbers I know by heart these days. Most of those are landlines that I knew back then. :)

Heh. Thanks for that. But I want the extension of my brain that is Qt3 to tell me first. :)

I look at it this way. For a while we spent a lot of our time hunting, and then we discovered agriculture. This gave us more time and brain space to do things like build cities and create languages. Then for a while we had to remember things like phone numbers and such, and now we have all that data with us at all times in another device, which will hopefully give us more time and brain space to ultimately be even more creative and ultimately better people.

One can hope.

My feeling is that eventually we will have brain implants that are connected all of the time.