Is this a PC I should buy?

It’s three years, THREE YEARS since I bought a new desktop box, so I’m going to get a new one. My motives are partly to have faster new shinyness so that I compile faster and render quicker (I’m a game developer) but also partly to increase the variety of hardware I have to test my games on.

Currently my PC is a 32bit Vista intel core 2 duo with an nvidia 8800 GTS and 2 gig of RAM. For maximum variety, I’m thinking of getting a quad core AMD chip, windows 7, 64 bit and an ATI card. hence this:

(from meshcomputers in the UK)
[ul]
[li]Midi Tower Black / Black Mesh + 550W PSU
[/li][li]ASUS M4A77TD Pro Mainboard- AMD 770 CrossFireX- AM3 Phenom™ II, DDR3 - ATX
[/li][li]Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium Edition - 64bit English
[/li][li]AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 Black Quad Core Processor AM3 (3.40GHz, 8MB Cache)
[/li][li]8GB 1333MHz Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM
[/li][li]1GB ATI Radeon 5670 Graphics Accelerator GDDR5
[/li][li]1TB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drive with 32MB Buffer
[/li][li]7.1 High Definition onboard sound card - for 8 Channel Cinema sound
[/li][/ul]
£741 inc VAT.

Any comments on what I should change or upgrade in all that? This is without a monitor, I’ll keep my existing ones. I’m out of the loop regarding hardware so don’t know if this rig is good or not. I like my O/S to run really fast and be responsive. Will this do that?

Radeon 5670 is very very lowend. It is worse than that nvidia you have right now.I would go with 5850 at least…assuming you want to play games of course. And myself I would go with intel as well, but that is more about subjective preferences.

How fast is your Core 2 Duo? Chances are, a cheap ram upgrade to 4GB and a new video card will suit you very well.

The 5670 isn’t all-around slower than your 8800GTS, but it certainly isn’t an upgrade either:

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3720&p=6

AMD is pretty crappy these days