IT Contract work

So. I have been working in enterprise IT for almost 20 years. But as of December I have taken my first contract role.

The lack of subsidized benefits stings. I had to sign up for ACA insurance, which is probably the most ironically named piece of legislation in history. In that it is not at all affordable, for me, compared to the company subsidized benefits I am used to.

The upside is that I get paid for every hour I work and I get time and a half for weekly hours over 40. Which is fucking fantastic.

That said, I have recently been involved with interviewing other contractors to work for the business I am working at. And I have seen some offers go out to people that are objectively less qualified than myself for more money than I am making.

So my question is, how should I handle this? The company I work for directly is a a contract firm who in turn hires me out to work for another company. Should I approach my contracting company? Should I approach the company I am working for indirectly? Should I approach them both?

Appreciate advice.

Thanks

I would approach the company that hires you out. In my past experience as a contractor the firm who hired me out charged a rate per hour at that time was Sun Microsystems. So they were paying me a percentage of the hourly rate which can be neogotiated if you are a good earner.

To ask the company you are sent to is probably a contractual problem for them.

Yes, the first few contract jobs are a pain until you know what the rates are. You’re in a good spot for the next time you negotiate salary. I’m in software and there is typically a mandated break in service after x months, so negotiations are just part of the job. If it were me, I would ask for more from the contractor that’s paying you, and if they won’t budge, there is always the next gig.

It depends a bit on the context, the branch of the business and your personal relationship to both of the companies.