Jesus: Was He Real?

I don’t think so… What about you?

Absolutely. There’s as much documentation about His life outside the Bible as there is inside.

I recommend the book “He Walked Among Us” to anyone interested in reading about non-Biblical documentation on the life of Jesus.

Pete, you troll. ;0

This turns out not to be the case, actually, unless something has come to light quite recently that I’m unaware of (and, hey, I’m no expert, just an interested party who checks it out occasionally).

The book “He Walked Among Us” takes the four gospels and discusses how Matthew, Mark, Luke and John experienced Jesus. It is all strictly from the Bible and a discussion of those works, if I remember correctly. It has been a number of years since I read it.

In fact, one of the problems with establishing whether Jesus actually lived, as a historical fact, is that there seems to be no record of his life other than the four Gospels, themselves generally considered to have been written from 170 to 180 years after the fact. Contemporary Roman records don’t mention him, and the Romans were inveterate recordkeepers; it seems strange that Roman historians, of which there were many, would not mention someone crucified or who led a rebellion against Roman rule, as that was the Roman punishment for rebels and Palestine was a hot spot during this period.

During the period of 0 CE to the mid-30s CE, which would take in the bulk of Jesus’ life, there seems to be no independant documentaton that mentions him (at least, to my knowledge). The one exception I know of is Flavius Josephus, a Jewish historian born in 37 CE, four years after Jesus’ crucifixtion. Most scholars think the two passages in which he mentions Jesus, as a wise man crucified by Pilate, to be forgeries added later by an unknown Christian source, as it appears completely out of context with the rest of the narrative.