"Jim Cobb is Angry": Thoughts on AI in Strategic G

[i]Tired of Dumb AI? Want to play a game without finding an opponent? Noticing the developers are getting lazy.

Well, Jim Cobb has noticed all the above and he’s mad as hell and won’t take it anymore! In his latest essay, he outlines what players should and should not expect from AIs. He also outlines some concepts developers could use to improve the present conditions[/i]

[size=6]http://www.combatsim.com/review.php?id=738[/size]

One of the last lines in the article.

I’m no programmer but I would be surprised if game developers couldn’t implement these ideas.

The article is a rant, nothing more. AI is hard hard hard.

Yeah, this kind of article isn’t even worth posting. Good thing the Internet is free.

And this guy should try writing outside of it.

Well it is combatsim.com so you shouldn’t go in expecting too much.

“AIs don’t think” some exclaim. Why not?

Cos the Turing Police always get to them first, duh.

Someone tell those silly designers all they need to do is set bRealer=true.

It’s easy. Duh.

What exactly was the point of that article? All I could see in it was a bunch of abstract thoughts. Maybe Jim Cobb needs to give us concrete ideas instead of beating around the bush. He should also play Civ4 while he’s at it.

Dear sir,

Learn what a neural net or at least an FSM is before commenting on AI techniques and strategies.

Sincerely,
A Programmer

you didn’t read that new paper on bRealer=true?

Who is Jim Cobb?
Why should i care?

Because he’s angry! You won’t like Jim Cobb when he’s angry.

Also, he’s a veteran wargame reviewer. I didn’t read his article since that site requires registration but it’s curious that he suddenly rails against bad AI… in all his reviews he used to excuse poor AI with the limits of technology!