Job interview advice

I’m going for a job interview (by phone) tomorrow for the position of game designer, at a smallish games company that’s recently signed a partnership to develop a new MMO for the Asian market.

I’m not a game developer and I have no experience in the industry. I’m actually rather surprised I’ve got this far. I have the general experience they wanted - 2 university degrees, analytical skills, high literacy, experience and love of playing MMOs, positive attitude and drive to succeed. My job experience however has been in IT customer support, IT management, and as a member of the EverQuest guide program.

I really want to transition into this industry and I’m very hopeful about the job - but I’m also sure there are others with more industry experience than me being interviewed. I also know I probably don’t fit a typical game designer profile, being female and very soft-spoken.

Anybody have any tips on the kind of things a prospective MMO developer would be most interested in, that would encourage them to consider a candidate with less industry experience over one with more? Or any tips in general about the most desirable aspects of a MMO game designer?

chews fingernails

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

I have absolutely no insight into the hiring process of the games industry, but my guess is that if you’ve made it this far into the gauntlet, they’ve got a good idea of your past experience. Go in smiling and excited and I’m sure they’ll give you a fair shake.

It helps if you like games and can explain why. (It’s the “why” part that sometimes trips people up.)

• Alan

And realize that they’ll probably work you to the bone and burn out any love you have for games.

I have a love of online communities, more than the games themselves. I find them fascinating, always have, and I hope I always will. Online multiplayer games are a particular instance of online community building where there are (I hope) more jobs to be had.