Kerbal Space Program 2

Another giant leap for Kerbalkind.

From the devs:

Planned release in 2020.

I didn’t realize the team making this sequel was formerly Uber Entertainment. I guess that explains why the Planetary Annihilation folks split off a while back.

I’mma crash so many rockets

Easily the highlight of Gamescom announcements for me. I’m positively quivering in anticipation.

I’m sooooo happy. Most anticipated game for me right now. Yes, even over cyberpunk.

I don’t really feel great about that. Kerbal’s poetry to me was its anchor into our own science, and how it made it touchable, sensible.

It’s time to embrace the era of interstellar tic tacs.

That’s how you make a sequel folks!

But… but… I just started with the original game.

Hopefully there’s a MechJeb for the sequel… I ain’t no pilot, but I am an engineer and scientist.

Exactly the same gameplay but with slightly improved graphics?

Yeah, and is there some other game like this thats better?

Colonies and interstellar travel both sound like new and fun features to me. Colonies, in particular. My biggest complaint with KSP has always been a lack of much to do once you land on a planet. I like the idea that we have to develop colonies until they “become advanced enough for vehicle construction, propelling deep space and beyond.”

I was so excited about this I couldn’t sleep last night.

Maybe if the game had given you tasks to perform, such as collecting rocks, performing science experiments, etc.

Well, it’s true that KSP does ask you to gather science, including when landed on a foreign body, but that never tookme more than a couple minutes. I’d then be off to hunt for another biome to farm for science. I like the idea of a colony that has a longer-term mission.

Like, say, a base or something at Minmus that mines, refines and refuels your vessels as they head to outer system?

;-)