Lawyers, I need a question answered

It’s pretty dumb question, but I’m a newb when it comes to law.
Anyway :: BACKSTORY ::
I was watching TV last night, to be more presice… “Law and Order” was the fish of the day… I happen to like cop shows… I see it as the more “intelligent” TV… now when ever theres a crime commited on these shows they start talking about “Murder one” “Murder two” etc.

Exactly what are these things? Scores? Isn’t Murder… just that? Murder?

I guess what I’m asking is… What does it mean when they say “Murder one” or “Murder in the first degree”

(oh, and what is it with that detective on Law and Order: Criminal Intent? does he suffer from autism or just a bad case of the jitters?)

It’s going to vary between jurisdictions.

For starts, yes, Murder One means “Murder in the First Degree.”

In some areas, that’s reserved for capital crimes and ones that involved torture or rape; in others, what constitutes Murder two constitutes Murder One in others.

Is there some reason why you’re asking? ;)

Just wanna know in case these violent video games I play make me flip and and go craaa-aazy

MUHA
MUHAHA

MUHAHHAHAA HAR HAR HAR HAR HAHA

egh

Oh, well, in that case, keep in mind the following:

If there’s no evidence, it never happened.

Consider shaving your entire body before the act, wear latex gloves, buy a pair of shoes that are extremely popular, and remember, the element of surprise is your best friend.

Good luck, my fellow nutbag.

And give a holler to OJ if you need further instructions :twisted: