Learning home DIY?

I bought a condo last year and now own a place for the first time in my life. I want to make improvements, but the problem is I am not a mechanical person at all. I have used various tools and machines for work over the years but I generally don’t feel comfortable doing things like drilling holes in my own walls (what if I hit a wire or screw it up?).

I tried YouTube, but there is a ton of crap out there and a lot of stuff assumes you have a clue. I don’t. So any suggestions where to start? Books? Someone in YouTube who explains things for a complete beginner? Any ideas?

https://www.amazon.com/Time-life-Home-Repair-Improvement-Set/dp/B008271QRE

They are a bit old but the basics are pretty much the same.

I’m not sure if this would be practical for your condo, but I got myself comfortable with a circular saw and drill by building myself a workbench from plans I found on the internet. It didn’t have fancy joints, and the thing was fastened together with carriage bolts. But the basic idea of giving yourself a project to do covering some basic tools that you want to learn to use would help you get more comfortable.

Alternatively, you may want to look for courses that give help you with learning the basic skills.

For example, something like

https://coned.georgebrown.ca/courses-and-certificates/home-maintenance-and-improvements-basics/

I just bought my first home (closed last week, moved in this weekend)

Excited to learn how to do a lot of repairs!!! (not really)

But, excited to have equity, rather than renting.

I bought a drill, and some tools, but I am dreading it. Starting off with some coat hooks and a key/shelf thingy that I ordered from Amazon. Figure if they aren’t exactly straight, it will be ok. I think wires go up vertically from switches/outlets, so my plan is to just avoid drilling where there might be wires.