Lost Ark (isometric ARPG/MMO) general discussion

Since the previous thread is seven years old, a new one seemed appropriate. I don’t know a lot about this game, but I just realized today that Amazon is publishing it in the West and that it will be out this fall (it’s been out in Korea, Japan, and Russia for some time).

The game is free to play, but there are multiple tiers of founder packages which include beta access abs a head start at launch. More info here:

Anyone been playing this yet?

Wow, that trailer tells you absolutely nothing about game-play.

And that’s the gameplay trailer!

I’ve been keeping half an eye on this for a few months, as it sounds like it could be a lot of fun, and I’m a sucker for good APRGs.

As for an actual release date, Steam says Dec 31, 2021, but that it widely considered a placeholder date. So while a lot of the promotional stuff says “Fall 2021” I don’t think there is an official release date yet.

There is a youtuber named Sywo who puts out a lot of Lost Ark videos. He currently plays the Russian version. Here’s a recent one:

According to what I have read, the game is completely F2P, but Steam is offering Founder’s packs that range from $20 to $100 that offer some advantages. Each Founder’s Pack includes beta access and a 3 day headstart. The tiers offer differing amounts of assorted non-combat cosmetics and pets. But the higher tier packs offer currencies/potions /reward chests that will give you a leg up in playing your toon. As with all F2P games, there are a couple different types of currencies so I have no idea how much of an advantage one of these Founder’s Packs will give you.

I don’t know much about the in-game shop and whether or not it offers similar items. I would guess it does.

Some Youtubers have tried to stir up a bit of “controversy” over the Founder’s Packs, claiming it’s a form of “Pay 2 Win.” I can’t get worked up over that though, as it smells like a tactic to get views.