LOTRO: Combat mechanics

To start with: What’s the low-down on Fellowship Manuevers?

My main is a burglar, and I’m just getting into the stuff that really requires grouping, so I better get this figured out. The once or twice that the FM ring has come up (or I remembered to trigger it), I get frozen looking at all the pretty colors, not quite sure what to do…

Yeah I can just go look this up, but I’d like to get people’s perspective on what works and what doesn’t, how to communicate ahead of time what the group should do, etc…

All Red unless we are almost dead (then its green!) is the guideline I generally use.

anarch…

With a random PUG in a simple quest that just involves grinding out a bunch of elites, just get everybody to hit the same color. Plan this ahead of time: “Hey guys, when a FM comes up, everybody hit green!”. If you want to get a little fancier, try for 4 of one color followed by 2 of another, or 5+1 or 4+1 or whatever.

What color is appropriate depends on your group composition. Green for heal plus heal-over-time, red for a burst of damage, yellow for damage over time, blue for power. Everybody loves to just hit red, but the amount of damage isn’t really that great, so other things are probably better. The result of the FM is, roughly, based on the colors in the FM, with some kind of bonuses for pulling off the fancy ones.

To participate in an FM, you have to have the right guy targetted, be facing him, and be in range. By clicking on the swirly arrow circle, you can change your target to the right guy. To pick red, you have to be fairly close, unless you are an archer. I think the range on other things is a bit better. If it says “out of range” or “must face target”, don’t panic! You have a few seconds to see which monster has triggered the FM and run over to them.

You can make things more complicated, but I think that covers the basics.